You are here: Home / About / Staff Directory

Administration and Staff


Drew Gilpin Faust, President

James F. Rothenberg, Treasurer

Lawrence S. Bacow

James W. Breyer

Paul J. Finnegan

Susan L. Graham

Nannerl O. Keohane

William F. Lee

Jessica Tuchman Mathews

Joseph J. O’Donnell

Robert D. Reischauer

Robert E. Rubin

Theodore V. Wells, Jr.


Thomas B. F. Cummins, Dumbarton Oaks Professor of the History of Pre-Columbian and Colonial Art

Ioli Kalavrezou, Dumbarton Oaks Professor of Byzantine Art

Michael Puett, Walter C. Klein Professor of Chinese History; Chair of the Committee on the Study of Religion

Diana Sorensen, James F. Rothenberg Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and of Comparative Literature; Dean of Arts and Humanities, Ex Officio

Mathilda van Es, Associate Dean for Administration for Arts and Humanities, Ex Officio

Jan M. Ziolkowski, Arthur Kingsley Porter Professor of Medieval Latin; Director of the Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, Ex Officio


Susan Boyd, Curator of the Byzantine Collection, 1979–2004

Giles Constable, Director, 1977–1984

Edward L. Keenan, Director, 1998–2007

Irfan Shahîd, Affiliate Fellow of Byzantine Studies

Robert W. Thomson, Director, 1984–1989


Jan Ziolkowski, Director

Yota Batsaki, Executive Director

Brijette Chenet, Executive Assistant

Nevena Djurdjevic, Human Resources Coordinator

Susannah Italiano, Events Manager

Pallavi Jain, Human Resources Manager


Raquel Begleiter, Research Associate

Elizabeth Dospel Williams, Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Byzantine Art History, Dumbarton Oaks/George Washington University

Scott Fitzgerald Johnson, Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Byzantine Studies, Dumbarton Oaks/Georgetown University

Eric McGeer, Consultant for Byzantine Sigillography

Jonathan Shea, Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Byzantine History/Sigillography and Numismatics, Dumbarton Oaks/George Washington University


Margaret Mullett, Director of Byzantine Studies

Seh-Hee Koh, Program Coordinator in Byzantine Studies

Senior Fellows

John Duffy, Chair

Dimiter Angelov (interim)

Susan Ashbrook Harvey

Ioli Kalavrezou

Ruth Macrides

Robert Ousterhout


John Beardsley, Director of Garden and Landscape Studies

Jane Padelford, Program Coordinator in Garden and Landscape Studies

Senior Fellows

D. Fairchild Ruggles, Chair

Sonja Dümpelmann

Georges Farhat

Gert Gröning

Alison Hardie

Thaisa Way


Colin McEwan, Director of Pre-Columbian Studies

Kelly McKenna, Program Coordinator in Pre-Columbian Studies

Senior Fellows

Thomas Cummins, Chair

Barbara Arroyo

Kenneth Hirth

Diana Magaloni

Gary Urton

John Verano


Alan Dirican, Director of Facilities 

Manuel Delgado, Assistant Director of Facilities


Mario García, Facilities and Services Coordinator

Carlos Mendez, Events and Services Coordinator

J. David Cruz-Delgado, Building Assistant

Noel Gabitan, Building Assistant

Jose Luis Guerrero, Building Assistant

Larry Marzan, Cleaning Assistant

José Pineda, Building Assistant

Adebayo Thomas, Building Assistant

José Enrique Tobar, Building Assistant


Kenneth Johnson, Senior Building Systems Engineer

Michael Neal, Mechanical Maintenance Technician

Albert Williams, Mechanical Maintenance Assistant


Hector Paz, Executive Chef Manager

Deysi M. Escobar-Ventura, Refectory Assistant

Dominador Salao, Kitchen Assistant


Gayatri Saxena, Director of Finance

DeWahn Coburn, Manager, Financial Operations

Neressa Darroux, Financial Analyst

Jonathan Lee, Payroll and Benefits Coordinator

Maurice Sanders, Staff Accountant

Friends of Music

Cindy Greene, Administrative Coordinator, Friends of Music

Valerie Stains, Artistic Director, Friends of Music


Gail Griffin, Director of Gardens and Grounds

Ricardo Aguilar, Gardener

Miguel Bonilla, Crew Leader

Melissa Brizer, Greenhouse Specialist

Rigoberto Castellon, Crew Leader

Walter Howell, Gardener

Luis Marmol, Gardener

Donald Mehlman, Gardener

Nathan Neufer, Gardener

Pedro Paulino, Gardener

Manuel Pineda, Crew Leader

Marc Vedder, Integrated Pest Management Specialist


Shalimar Fojas White, Manager

Fani Gargova, Byzantine Research Associate

Rona Razon, Archivist


Charlotte Johnson, Information Technology Manager

Carlos Carde, System Engineer


Deborah Brown, Librarian, Byzantine Studies

Sarah Burke Cahalan, Special Projects and Reference Librarian

Kimball Clark, Cataloger

Bridget Gazzo, Librarian, Pre-Columbian Studies

Ingrid Gibson, Interlibrary Loan Librarian

Wendy Johnson, Cataloger

Linda Lott, Librarian, Rare Book Collection

Sarah Mackowski, Acquisitions and ILL Assistant

Barbara Mersereau, Acquisitions Assistant

Sandra Parker-Provenzano, Head Cataloger

Sarah B. Pomerantz, Serials and Acquisitions Librarian

Toni Stephens, Library Assistant


Gudrun Bühl, Curator and Museum Director

Renée Alfonso, Museum Exhibitions and Programs Coordinator

James N. Carder, Archivist and House Collection Manager

John Hanson, Assistant Curator, Byzantine Collection

Colin Kelly, Museum Exhibit Technician

Joseph Mills, Photographer

Cécile Morrisson, Advisor for Byzantine Numismatics

Juan Antonio Murro, Assistant Curator, Pre-Columbian Collection

Patti L. Sheer, Museum Shop Manager

Marta Zlotnick, Museum Collections Manager and Assistant Registrar


Kathy Sparkes, Director of Publications

Meredith Baber, Editorial Assistant III

Joel Kalvesmaki, Editor in Byzantine Studies

Prathmesh Mengane, Database and CMS Developer

Michael Sohn, Web and Graphic Designer

Sara Taylor, Managing Editor, Art and Archaeology


Christopher L. Franklin, Director of Security

Randy W. Kestner, Lead Security Officer

Elizardo Arango, Security Officer

Nora Escobar, Security Officer

Fikre Habtemariam, Security Officer

Douglas C. Koch, Security Officer

Rodolfo Marston, Security Officer

Philip Moss, Security Officer

Robert Page, Security Officer

Anthony Suchaczewski, Security Officer

Garfield Tyson, Security Officer

Document Actions