You are here: Home / Museum / Museum Events / Past Events
Adverse Weather Closure

Dumbarton Oaks will be closed Thursday, March 5, 2015, due to adverse weather conditions. Please see here for more information about visiting us.

Past Events

DECEMBER, 2013

Lecture: To Write or Knot? Recent Advances in the Study of Andean Knotted Cord RecordsGary Urton, Harvard University | Thursday, December 5, 5:30 PM.

NOVEMBER, 2013

First Friday TourCelebrating Color | Friday, November 1, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, November 2, 1:30 PM.

Saturday TalkAtlatls and the Metaphysics of Violence in Central Mexico. Andrew Finegold, Columbia University | Saturday, November 16, 3:00 PM.

OCTOBER, 2013

First Friday TourHeads and Skulls | Friday, October 4, 3:00 PM.

Saturday TalkInka and Colonial Wooden Keros: Results of A Collaborative Technical StudyEmily Kaplan, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian | Saturday, October 26, 3:00 PM. 

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, December 7, 1:30 PM.

SEPTEMBER, 2013

First Friday TourExcavated Treasures | Friday, September 6, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, September 7, 1:30 PM.

Lecture: Pre-Columbian Art between the Ethnographic and the Surreal: Man Ray’s Imagined AmericasWendy Grossman, The Phillips Collection |  Thursday, September 26, 5:30 PM.

AUGUST, 2013

First Friday TourJade and Gold | Friday, August 2, 3:00 PM.

JULY, 2013

First Friday TourBirds and Beasts | Friday, July 5, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, July 6, 1:30 PM.

JUNE, 2013

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, June 1, 1:30 PM.

First Friday TourWoven Textures | Friday, June 7, 3:00 PM.

Opening Reception: Inspiring Art: The Dumbarton Oaks Birthing Figure | Thursday, June 27, 5:00 - 7:00 PM.

MAY, 2013

First Friday TourFestive Drinks | Friday, May 3, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, May 4, 1:30 PM. RSVP

Lecture: Wrinkle Face and Iguana: Companions in a Moche Epic. Christopher Donnan, UCLA | Thursday, May 16, 5:30 PM.

Special Event: Andean Weaving Demonstrations | Friday, May 17 - Sunday, May 19, 2:00 - 5:00 PM Daily.

APRIL, 2013

First Friday Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Friday, April 5, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, April 6, 1:30 PM.

Lecture: “You Cannot Not Know History”: Philip Johnson at Dumbarton Oaks. Hilary Lewis, Independent Scholar | Thursday, April 18, 5:30 PM.

MARCH, 2013

First Friday Tour: Splendid Seashells | Friday, March 1, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, March 2, 1:30 PM.

Lecture: Sacrificial Blood, Death, and Rebirth in Pre-Columbian Mural Painting. Maria Teresa Uriarte, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Co-sponsored by Association for Latin American Art | Friday, March 15, 5:30 PM.

Saturday Talk: Classic Maya Politicking: Perspectives from Three Monuments. Sarah Jackson, University of Cincinnati | Saturday, March 16, 3:00 PM.

FEBRUARY, 2013

First Friday Tour: Objects of Bliss | Friday, February 1, 3:00 PM.

First Saturday Walking Tour: Architectural Contrasts | Saturday, February 2, 1:30 PM.

Saturday Talk: The All-Toqapu Tunic: A Sartorial Statement of Inka Imperial Power. Andrew Hamilton, Harvard University | Saturday, February 9, 3:00 PM.

Document Actions